Canadian Flag Canada's Premier Bilingual AED Management Program

Privacy Policy

The owners and staff at AED4Life (sometimes referred to as "we") are committed to protecting your privacy. This Privacy Policy outlines how we handle your personal information to protect your privacy.

Privacy legislation

Since January 1, 2004, all Canadian organizations engaged in commercial activities have been required to comply with the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) and the Canadian Standards Association Model Code for the Protection of Personal Information incorporated by reference into PIPEDA. In addition, an Act respecting the Protection of Personal Information in the Private Sector has been in force in Quebec since 1994 and sets out rules regarding the collection, use and disclosure of personal information within that province.

As a professional firm that supplies life-saving medical equipment, we have professional and ethical obligations to keep confidential the information we receive.

Personal information

Personal information is defined in PIPEDA as information about an identifiable individual, but does not include the name, title or business address or telephone number of an employee of an organization. In other words, it does not include the information that one expects to find on a business card.

Consent to our collection of personal information

In most cases, we obtain your consent to collect, use and disclose your personal information. Usually, if you use our services or purchase our products, we assume that we have your implied consent to our collection and use of your personal information particularly for purposes of warranty and maintenance of sensitive equipment, however, at times we may ask for your express consent, either verbally or in writing. Generally, we collect your personal information directly from you when you complete a transaction with AED 4 Life.

Use of personal information at AED 4 Life

We use your personal information to provide warranty and ongoing service for the products we provide. We may use your contact information (name, e-mail and postal address) so that we may communicate with you about recent developments in AED Equipment, products or other life-saving or medical devices and products.

Withdrawal of Consent

You may withdraw your consent to our collection, use and disclosure of your personal information at any time, subject to legal and/or contractual restrictions and upon reasonable notice. Your withdrawal of consent to our collection, use and disclosure of your personal information may impact our ability to provide you with the latest updates regarding your equipment or other purchases.

You can ask us not to send you marketing communications by following the opt-out instructions in each communication or you may let us know by contacting us.

Disclosure of personal information

We do not disclose your personal information to third parties without your consent unless permitted or required by applicable laws or court orders.

Accuracy of your information

It is important that the information that we have on file be accurate and up-to-date. If, during the course of our business relationship, any of your information changes, please inform us so that we can make any necessary changes. We may also ask you from time to time whether your personal information is up-to-date.

Safeguards

AED 4 Life uses various safeguards to ensure that your personal information is protected against loss, theft, misuse, unauthorized access, disclosure, copying or alteration. These include: security of our physical premises; our professional obligations; security software and firewalls to prevent unauthorized computer access or "hacking"; and internal passwords that restrict access to our electronic files.

Access to your personal information

You have a right to challenge the accuracy and completeness of your personal information and to have it amended, as appropriate. You also have a right to request access to your personal information and receive an accounting of how that information has been used and disclosed, subject to certain exceptions prescribed by law. For example, if the requested information would reveal personal information about another individual, your request for access may be limited or denied. If your request for access is denied, AED 4 Life will notify you in writing of the reason for the denial.

To request access or to amend your personal information, please contact the AED Office (all contact information is up to date on this website) or write to our Privacy Contact at the address below. AED 4 Life will respond within thirty (30) days of receipt of your written request.

Website privacy

Like most other commercial websites, we may monitor traffic patterns, site usage and related site information to optimize your visit to our website. We do not use cookies or any electronic means to collect personal information from you or your computer; however, our website server will automatically collect IP addresses. We may view the IP log from time to time, for example, to maintain the security of our website. We do not link the IP addresses to other personally identifiable information.

Privacy contacts

If you have any questions or complaints about this Policy or the handling of your personal information, if you wish to withdraw your consent to our use of your personal information, or to request access to or update any information we have on file, please contact the staff person with whom you are dealing, or contact:

Lori King
Privacy Officer
AED 4 Life
877.233.8288 x 103
Send an email

If any complaint or inquiry is not handled to your complete satisfaction, you may contact:

Privacy Commissioner of Canada
112 Kent St
Ottawa, ON K1A 1H3
Tel: 613-995-8210
Toll-free: 1-800-282-1376

Canadian Flag Le 1er Programme Bilingue au Canada pour l’Administration d’un Programme DEA

Politique de Confidentialité

Les propriétaires et le personnel de AED4Life (aussi reconnus à l’occasion sous la mention “nous”), s’engagent à protéger vos renseignements personnels. Cette Politique de Confidentialité décrit le traitement de vos renseignements personnels dans le but de protéger votre confidentialité.

Loi sur la Confidentialité

Depuis le 1er janvier 2004, toute organisation canadienne qui revêt un caractère commercial doit se soumettre à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) et au code de l’Association canadienne de normalisation pour la Protection des Renseignements Personnels incorporé en référence au document couvrant LPRPDE. De plus, une loi sur le respect des Renseignements Personnels dans le Secteur Privé est en vigueur depuis 1994 dans la province de Québec et a mis en places des règlements sur la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels à l’intérieur de cette province.

En tant qu’entreprise professionnelle impliquée dans la vente d’équipement médical destiné à sauver des vies, nous avons des obligations professionnelles et morales et devons protéger la confidentialité de l’information que nous recevons.

Information Personnelle

LPRPDE définit “information personnelle” comme étant toute information concernant un individu identifiable, sans inclure le nom, le titre, l’adresse ou le numéro de téléphone de l’entreprise d’un employé de l’organisation. En d’autres mots, n’inclut pas l’information que vous trouveriez sur une carte d'affaires.

Consentement à notre collecte de renseignements personnels

Dans la plupart des cas, nous obtenons votre consentement pour nous permettre de collecter, utiliser et divulguer votre information personnelle. Normalement, si vous utilisez nos services ou achetez nos produits, nous prenons pour acquis que nous avons votre consentement implicite pour la collection et l’utilisation de votre information personnelle, spécialement pour ce qui a trait aux garanties et à l’entretien d’un équipement important. Cependant, nous pourrions à l’occasion vous demander de confirmer votre consentement soit verbalement ou par écrit lors d’une transaction avec AED4Life.

Utilisation de renseignements personnels par AED4Life

Nous utilisons vos renseignements personnels pour les garanties et le support technique des produits que nous vous fournissons. Nous pourrions utiliser votre information (nom, adresse courriel et adresse civique) pour vous contacter au sujet de récents développements sur les appareils DEA, leurs produits et tout autre appareil ou produit médical qui vise à sauver des vies.

Retrait du Consentement

Vous pouvez retirer votre consentement à notre collection, utilisation et divulgation de vos renseignements personnels en tout temps, sujet aux restrictions légales et/ou contractuelles qui pourraient être en place et moyennant un préavis raisonnable. Le retrait de votre consentement à la collection, utilisation et divulgation de vos renseignements personnels pourraient nous empêcher de vous fournir les dernières mises à jour sur votre équipement et autres achats.

Vous pouvez nous demander de suspendre nos communications de marketing en suivant les instructions “clause de sortie” inclues avec chaque envoi ou tout simplement en nous contactant directement.

Divulgation de vos renseignements personnels

Nous nous engageons à ne pas divulguer vos renseignements personnels à un tiers sans votre consentement sauf si permis ou requis par les lois applicables ou par ordre d’un tribunal.

Exactitude de vos renseignements

Il est important de nous fournir les renseignement exacts et à jour pour nos dossiers. Si, au cours de notre relation d’affaires, ces renseignements changeaient, veuillez nous en informer pour nous permettre de faire les ajustements nécessaires. Il se pourrait aussi qu’à l’occasion, nous vous demandions de confirmer que ces renseignements sont à jour.

Mesures de protection

AED4Life utilise différentes mesures pour protéger vos renseignements personnels contre la perte, le vol, l’abus, l’accès non autorisé, la divulgation, la reproduction ou la modification. Ces méthodes incluent: un système de sécurité pour protéger nos locaux; nos obligations professionnelles; logiciel de sécurité et barrières de sécurité pour prévenir tout accès non-autorisé ou le piratage de nos systèmes informatiques; et mots de passe internes qui restreignent l’accès à nos dossiers électroniques.

Accès à vos renseignements personnels

Vous avez le droit de mettre en question l’exactitude et la couverture de vos renseignements personnels et de les faire modifier si nécessaire. Vous avez aussi le droit de demander accès à vos renseignements personnels et d’obtenir l’historique sur l’utilisation et la divulgation de ces renseignements, sujet à certaines exceptions prescrites par la loi. Par exemple, si l’information demandée devait révéler des renseignements personnels sur une autre personne, votre accès pourrait être limité ou refusé. Si votre demande d’accès est refusée, AED4Life vous avisera par écrit de la raison du refus.

Pour demander l’accès ou pour modifier vos renseignements personnels, veuillez contacter nos bureaux (l’information nécessaire pour nous contacter est à jour sur notre site WEB) ou faire parvenir votre requête et information à notre responsable du secteur Confidentialité à l’adresse indiquée ci-dessous. AED4Life vous répondra à l’intérieur des trentes (30) jours suivant la réception de votre demande.

Confidentialité du site Web

Comme tout autre site Web, nous nous permettons de surveiller les tendances du trafic internet, l’utilisation du site et de l’information qui s’y retrouve pour que vous puissiez profiter de votre visite au maximum. Nous n’avons pas recours aux cookies ou à tout autre méthode électronique pour obtenir des renseignements personnels vous concernant ou reliés à votre ordinateur; par contre, le serveur de notre site Web recueille les adresses IP. Nous révisons à l’occasion le registre d’adresses IP pour assurer la sécurité de notre site Web. Ces adresses IP ne sont pas associées à l’information personnelle d’une personne identifiable.

Confidentialité: Personne contact

Si vous avez des questions ou des plaintes concernant cette politique ou la manipulations de vos renseignements personnels, si vous désirez retirer votre consentement à notre utilisation de vos renseignements personnels, ou pour demander accès à ou mettre à jour les renseignements contenus dans notre système, veuillez contacter l’employé(e) avec qui vous faites affaires ou contacter:

Lori King
Responsable – Politique de Confidentialité
AED 4 Life
877.233.8288 x 103
Envoyer un courriel

Si vous n’êtes pas complètement satisfait des résultats obtenus après avoir soumis une plainte ou une requête, vous pouvez contacter:

Commissaire à la Confidentialité – Gouvernement du Canada
112 Kent St
Ottawa, ON K1A 1H3
Tel: 613-995-8210
Toll-free: 1-800-282-1376